2020 Candidate Information

2020 Mayor Candidates

Affidavit of Candidacy
Elizabeth B. KautzMayor20-01
Chris KlavetterMayor20-05

2020 Council Member Candidates

Affidavit of Candidacy
Dan GustafsonCouncil Member
Cara SchulzCouncil Member20-03
M. Chime’re Taylor
Council Member
Sheldon BeilkeCouncil Member

The Burnsville City Council is composed of the Mayor and four Council Members. All members are elected by and from the electors of the City at large.

The Mayor and the Council Members hold their terms for four (4) years. The terms for Council Members are staggered so that only two Council Members are elected every two (2) years.

Municipal elections are non-partisan. The candidate names are placed on the ballot without party designation.

The City implemented Primary Elections in 2005. A Primary Election for an office shall only be held if the number of candidates is more than twice the number of individuals to be elected to the office.